Friday, January 18, 2013

Emmy Rossum to Release New Album, Sentimental Journey Jan 29th (Review) #SentimentalJourney

Emmy Rossum: 'Sentimental Journey' Album Announcement!

"A collection of covers of classic songs that span the '20s to the '60s. The album's highlights include its title track, which was a No. 1 hit for Les Brown and His Band of Renown with Doris Day as the vocalist in 1945; "These Foolish Things," a '30s standard that has been recorded by everyone from Nat King Cole and Bing Crosby to Rod Stewart and Michael Buble; "Summer Wind," which was popularized by Frank Sinatra in 1966; and "I"ll Be With You In Apple Blossom Time," which was a Top 5 hit for the Andrews Sisters in 1941."

Sentimental Journey Track Listing:
  1. “Sentimental Journey” (Les Brown, Ben Homer, Arthur Green)
  2. “The Object Of My Affection” (Pinky Tomlin)
  3. “I’m Looking Over A Four Leaf Clover “(Mort Dixon, Harry M. Woods)
  4. “These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You)” (Eric Maschwitz, Jack Strachey)
  5. “(I’ll Be With You) In Apple Blossom Time” (Albert Von Tilzer, Neville Fleeson)
  6. “Summer Wind” (Heinz Meier, Johnny Mercer)
  7. “Many Tears Ago” (Winfield Scott)
  8. “All I Do Is Dream Of You” (Nacio Herb Brown, Arthur Freed)
  9. “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out” (Jimmy Cox)
  10. “Autumn Leaves” (Joseph Kosma, Jacques PrĂ©vert)
  11. “Things” (Bobby Darin)
  12. “Pretty Paper” (Willie Nelson)


My Thoughts:

I am always hesitant to listen to actors turned musicians, but after hearing so many good things about Emmy Rossum's upcoming CD release, Sentimental Journey, I had to get my hands on a copy and see if she was any good.  Yes, there are many triple threat stars who can sing, dance, act, or do another talent that many of us only dream to be able to just one of.  If you are not familiar with Emmy Rossum, she is a 26 yr. old actress who began her movie career in early 2000 with such films as Songcatcher, An American Rhapsody and her most stand out and talked about role in Mystic River.  Most recently she can be seen in Showtime's television dramedy, Shameless, as Fiona Gallagher. 

Emmy Rossum is one of those lucky stars who can act, sing and write her own songs.  While waiting to receive an advance copy of her Jan. 29th release, Sentimental Journey, I ended up downloading her 2007 debut album, Inside Out, to listen to.  In addition to this debut CD, Emmy also released a Christmas EP that same year, titled Carol of the Bells.  After listening  to 2007 release, Emmy's sound and style is pop, but not that bubblegum pop you expect from starlets.  Some of her songs reminded me of Annie Lenox in their feel. I found out that Emmy wrote all the songs on Inside Out, which was impressive.  But, with this upcoming new release, she will be singing covers of classic songs from the 20's to the 60's. 

So, what can one expect from songs of this span.  Well, I finally received my review copy and love how it combines classics with a jazzy feel.  Each of the songs really show Emmy's vocal range and talent, and you really feel her emotion in each of the songs.  I especially loved her song, "Pretty Paper," which she released around the holidays, and really was fitting for the season.  Other tracks I fell in love with instantly were "Summer Wind," "I'm Looking Over a Four Leaf Clover," and "All I Do Is Dream of You."  But, that doesn't mean the remaining 10 songs are not good -- they are in fact great.  I can see this new CD climbing the charts and definitely introducing Emmy Rossum the singer/songwriter to those not familiar with her musical talents beyond acting.  Make sure you pre-order a copy of her CD or pick up when it releases on Jan. 29th.  You will not be disappointed.

And, tune in to see Emmy Rossum perform live on the following television appearances:

  • Emmy will performing a track from Sentimental Journey on Access Hollywood Live on January 25th.
  • Emmy will also be appearing as a guest on Conan on January 28th, Chelsea Lately on January 29th, and The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson on February 6th.


You can pre-order the album now on Amazon or pre-order the fan edition on Emmy‘s online store.

Disclosure:  I participated in this campaign for One2One Network. I received a free copy of the CD to facilitate my review. By posting, I am eligible for incentives. All opinions stated are my own.

No comments :

Post a Comment